A Sweet ‘n Short Review of Sweet Medicine

If you follow me on social media you know I really live up to the struggling bookworm name. I rave on and on about books on my wish list that I can’t afford most of the time and on times where I feel brave (or desperate ) I often ask my followers to buy me said books. Which never happens 😢😭

Anyway beginning of this year I was going on and on about sweet medicine by Panashe Chigumadzi. From camping on The Vanguard all the time to read some of her work i was excited. She’s honestly one of my brain crushes and upon hearing that her debut novel was finally out I did my usual cry for books and the need for money to buy such books. Fast toward to a couple of weeks ago when I was home I finally bought Sweet Medicine and with no academic stress standing in the way of my reading I read this baby in almost two days.

Sweet Medicine  as I mentioned is Panashe’ debut novel. It’s set in Harare in 2008 at the height of Zimbabwe’s economic woes. It tells the story of Tsitsi a graduate who finds herself in a situation that most young people are experiencing. The sad tale of the graduate who has to settle for a hand to mouth lifestyle because of the lack of jobs. Tsitsi works as a personal assistant to a minister, Mr Zvogbo.

In a few months however Tsitsi finds herself seducing the minister-a means to an end I suppose. All this is done to better her life and secure a financially stable future for her and her family. Sweet Medicine portrays the lives of the people around Tsitsi, from her mother and uncle to her lover the minister.

Panashe beautifully captures the effects of an economic meltdown. She also captures femininity in the modern age. The minister expects Tsitsi to stay home and run the household although it is filled with house aids. She also deals with the issue of religion and culture.

I am really looking forward to seeing Panashe flourish in all senses of the word. I don’t want to give too much away. All I can say is it is a wonderful read. Perfect for Saturday afternoons with a cup of coffee. Do yourself a favour and get it.

Love

Mido

Leave a Reply

