Book Review: Khaled Hosseini’s And The Mountains Echoed

I just finished reading Khaled Hosseini’s And The Mountains Echoed. The first book of his that I have read and it’s taking every bit of self-control to not use my last couple of Pulas to go buy all his other books. I am wowed, thoroughly and completely WOW’ed by this work. My mind tells me to read it again just to go through the emotions again. As with all books that I am excited to start reading I bought the book a week ago and was so excited to finally have it as I saw people raving on and on about that I didn’t start reading it till yesterday. I always feel if I start a book, I won’t put it down till I am done with (which is always the case) and so I always delay starting it. It took me less than 24 hours to read it and meals were skipped, baths delayed and socializing time ignored as I was pulled into the beautiful literary world that is this book.

The plot was amazing and sometimes I always feel I like certain books because of their plots and not the
writing techniques but with this one I fell in love with his writing, the imagery he provided and how after reading the first chapter, rather the first page you wanted to go on and read on because the books tugs at your heart from the first chapter and takes you through a journey from Afghanistan where Khaled himself is from and he takes you through a mind blowing journey from a small village Shadbagh to the city Kabul to Paris to Greece to America as his character grow and somehow at the end it all comes together and the reader will be left mouth agape and emotions running wild over this splendid book.

The book talks of a love between two siblings Abdullah and his sister Pari which means fairy in Farsi, theirs is not an ordinary sibling love it’s one bond that surpasses the sibling love. Abdullah is more than an older brother to Pari but a best friend, mother and father all at once. They are separated and this is the basis of the story as Khaled takes us on a journey of different characters that these two meet and interact with; the family that adopted Pari, their Uncle Nabi who made the adoption possible, and many others. Each character’s life story is introduced in a somewhat superb way. Khaled’s story starts in the 1950’s and sees generations of people grow and mature and also he does a wonderful job of writing about the Afghanistan war and how it changed the country and also how it affected the characters. years after their separation, Pari seeks out her long lost brother whom she had sadly forgotten about but she had somehow always felt a void she couldn’t quite get rid of, as if something or someone was missing in her life. She now lives in Paris, forced into early retirement after an unfortunate bout of arthritis. after Markos the Italian man living in her childhood home in Kabul calls her to tell her about her history as found in a letter left by her step-uncle Nabi she is sent on a whirlwind journey back to her roots and in search of her long lost family.

Pari and Abdullah’s reconciliation happens more than fifty years later and by now they are both old and greying, also suffering from the aftermath of lives well lived as their bodies are about to give up on them and I don’t want to give anything away because I hate spoilers myself but it’s a beautiful yet very touching reunion with a very heart gripping ending to the book as two generations of Pari’s are in France for a long overdue reunion of sorts.

Typing this review right now I am still awestruck by this book and I somehow feel I am not doing justice to the book with this review, I highly recommend it to anyone and EVERYONE looking for an easy, captivating yet somehow life changing book. I think this book has somehow found its way into the top of my 2014 favorites. I hope everyone picks up a copy of this book on their window shopping trips to a bookstore.

Yours

Very happy Bookworm

Mido
xx

Leave a Reply

